Skip to content
Link to calendar overview

Perspectives and Closing

The symposium “The future Arctic Ocean: Past – Present – Future” will be closed with perspectives on the week and on opportunities for the Arctic science in the years to come.

The panelists will be:

Jørgen Berge, Dean of the Faculty of Biosciences, Fisheries, and Economics at UiT The Arctic University of the Arctic, the Chair of the Future Arctic Ocean Board, and the Chair of the Nansen Legacy board

Amanda Ziegler, Researcher in the private consultant company Akvaplan-niva and former postdoctoral researcher in the project Nansen Legacy

Igor Polyakov, Professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA and leader of the Siberian Arctic Distributed Biological Observatory (A-DBO) and involved in other Arctic observational initiatives

Michael Karcher, Senior Scientist at the Alfred Wegener Institute, Germany, leader of the project Arctic Passion, and member of the Scientific Advisory Board in the project Nansen Legacy

The panel debate will be moderated by Nansen Legacy project leader Marit Reigstad.